Bedford Blues v Cornish Pirates

Saturday, 23 March, 2019 - 15:00
1st XV Championship
Won 32-14

Bedford Blues put in a solid 80 minute performance on Saturday afternoon to pick up a bonus point 32-14 win over the Cornish Pirates in front of the Sky Sports cameras.

Tries from Dean Adamson, Ryan Hutler and Rich Lane plus a penalty try for the pack ensured that all five points came the way of the Blues while the visitors crossed at the start and end of the second half.

Speaking at full time, Adamson said: “In the last two games we felt that we’d let ourselves down, we’ve let the club down and we’ve let the fans down so we knew we wanted to come flying out of the blocks in the first five minutes and we certainly did that and continued throughout the half.

“After the break, discipline let us down a bit and we made some mistakes but we regrouped with the forwards getting a good penalty try to seal the bonus point. We’ve really worked hard on tempo ahead of this game and it showed. We knew the Pirates weren’t going to give up but our defence was good all game and we continued to work hard to get the win.”

Bedford were forced into a late change before kick-off as Alex Penny was ruled out with a calf strain, but it didn’t seem to have too much of an impact as the Blues came firing out the blocks with a try within the first minute. A lineout was collected by Oli Curry before the backs came in and Lee Dickson dinked a lovely kick through the gap with Adamson collecting and scoring with Will Hooley adding the extras.

A penalty allowed the Pirates to find good touch deep in Bedford’s half, but the Blues defence was superb as Huw Worthington, Josh Buggea and Justin Blanchet got in the mix to deny any ground and secured a scrum.

It wasn’t a great day for lineout throwers with one too many going over the top, but the Blues extended their lead with a 17th minute Hooley penalty from 40 metres out following the Pirates being offside.

Things weren’t going the visitors way as a Will Cargill penalty pulled horribly wide of the uprights and then the Blues ran in two tries in three minutes. The first came as the Pirates attacked but an audacious lob pass was met by a leaping Ed Coulson who palmed the ball back for Ryan Hutler to run from within the Blues 22 to score but Hooley’s conversion went wide.

Moments later, Hooley had his eye in as he converted a Rich Lane try after the fullback intercepted a Pirates pass and turned on the gas to score with the conversion making it 22-0 before he slotted a penalty to extend the lead.

The PIrates responded well after the break with the forwards happy to inch their way forward with ball in hand before Javier Rojas Alvarez was given room and he darted over for the score with Cargill adding the extras.

Bedford didn’t buckle though and the defensive effort was a good one all round as Mark Flanagan, Ben Cooper, Jacob Fields and Sean McCarthy all in stubborn mood while Dom Morris battered anything that tried to pass him.

The Pirates continued to push and when Hutler was carded for a deliberate knock on, they sensed an opportunity only to be denied first by impressive maul defence before the Blues pack forced a penalty form the resulting scrum.

Bedford’s changes had a superb effect with Jarad Williams going on some bulldozing runs while Alex Rae and Will Carrick-Smith added another dimension to the set piece. 

A well struck Hooley penalty set up a good chance for the Blues in 72nd minute with Tadgh McElroy coming close and then Dickson closer but he was held up over the line. The scrum that followed was dominated by the Blues and as the PIrates buckled, the referee ran under the posts to award the penalty, and all important fourth, try.

The visitors scored the final try as Dan Lee played in John Stevens with Harvey Skinner converting but it was little more than a consolation as the Blues celebrated at the final whistle.

Bedford Blues: 15. Rich Lane, 14. Ryan Hutler, 13. Ed Coulson, 12. Dom Morris, 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Will Hooley, 9. Lee Dickson (c); 1. Sean McCarthy, 2. Jacob Fields, 3. Ben Cooper, 4. Oli Curry, 5. Mark Flanagan, 6. Justin Blanchet, 7. Josh Buggea, 8. Huw Worthington.

Replacements: 16. Tadgh McElroy, 17. Hayden King, 18. Alex Rae, 19. Will Carrick-Smith, 20. Jarad Williams, 21. James Lennon, 22. Harry Sheppard.

Cornish Pirates: 15 Maliq Holden, 14 Robin Wedlake, 13 Rory Parata, 12 Javier Rojas Alvarez, 11 Matt Evans, 10 Will Cargill, 9 Alex Schwarz; 1 Marlen Walker, 2 Dan Frost, 3 Tyler Gendall, 4 Toby Freeman, 5 Brett Beukeboom (c), 6 Josh Caulfield, 7 Matt Bolwell, 8 Tom Duncan.

Replacements: 16 Sam Matavesi, 17 Tom Concu, 18 Jack Owlett, 19 John Stevens, 20 Dan Lee, 21 Alex Day, 22 Harvey Skinner.

Referee: Michael Hudson

See more of Nigel Rudgard's pictures at

Next Home Match

Friday 23rd August
1st XV Pre Season
Goldington Road



See more pictures courtesy of Nigel Rudgard at