Bedford Blues have named their squad to face Plymouth Albion in the opening pre-season encounter of the summer at Brickfields on Friday night.

The Blues make the long journey down to Devon to face Kieran Hallet's men who are sure to be pushing the top of National One this season.

Director of Rugby Mike Rayer hands starting debuts to Ed Coulson, Joe Green, Jamie Elliot and Oli Curry while Hayden King, Tadgh McElroy and Lewis Robling will make impacts from the bench.

Returnees Pat Tapley, Mark Flanagan and Charlie Clare all pull on the Blues jersey once again while Saracens have also lent a further helping hand this week in the form of scrum-half Alex Gliksten who is named on the bench.

The game comes a little too soon for James Lennon, Ryan Hutler and Justin Blanchet while Will Carrick-Smith misses out as he completes his time out on the naughty step. 

Starting Line-up:

15. Ed Coulson
14. Pat Tapley
13. Jamie Elliot
12. Chris Czekaj
11. Joe Green
10. Will Hooley
9. Lee Dickson

1. Camilo Parilli-Ocampo
2. Jacob Fields
3. Alex Penny
4. Ed Taylor
5. Mark Flanagan
6. Oli Curry
7. Josh Buggea
8. Huw Worthington


Hayden King, Charlie Clare, Tadgh McElroy, Sean McCarthy, Ben Cooper, Alex Rae, Jack Nay, Jarad Williams, Alex Gliksten, Harry Sheppard, Dean Adamson, Lewis Robling, Rich Lane.

Next Home Match

Friday 23rd August
1st XV Pre Season
Goldington Road