The curtain came down on the Bedford Blues 2018/19 Championship campaign with the End of Season Gala Dinner on Friday night.

Players, coaches, directors and fans came together in the Blues Marquee to celebrate another wonderful season which saw the Blues finishing in third place once again as well as reaching the knockout stages of the cup.

With MC Sam Roberts orchestrating the event, Director of Rugby Mike Rayer, Captain Lee Dickson and Chairman Geoff Irvine all spoke and paid tribute to the amazing support that had followed the club whether at home or on the road.

Blues jerseys were also presented to the players leaving Goldington Road this season before a fantastic four course meal was served.

There was then a Goldington Road return for former prop-turned-comedian Robin Boot who entertained the crowd with a selection of his finest wordplay songs which resulted in much guffawing and Mike Rayer performing alongside the long-haired rocker.

The evening was capped off with the Players’ Player of the Year Award. After each game, the squad select their Man of the Match with the player with the most votes collecting the award which has previously been won by the likes of Michael Le Bourgeois, Myles Dorrian, Josh Buggea, Ben Gulliver, Chris Locke, Gregor Gillanders and Joe Vandermolen.

In joint fourth place were Mark Flanagan, Oli Curry and Lewis Robing while Jarad Williams came third and Ryan Hutler second. There was then resounding applause as Rich Lane was announced the winner and he collected the award from club skipper Lee Dickson.

The revelry continued as the Marquee was treated to a film of all the tries scored throughout the season as well the post match ‘Allez, Allez, Allez’ celebrations from the final league game.

The Blues now enjoy a few weeks of summer relaxation before the hard work preparing for the 2019/20 campaign starts again.


Next Home Match

Friday 23rd August
1st XV Pre Season
Goldington Road