Bedford Blues have named their 22 man squad as they return to Championship action this weekend with a journey to Headingley to face Yorkshire Carnegie on Sunday afternoon.

Having racked up a perfect ten with two bonus point British & Irish Cup wins over Nottingham and Ospreys Premiership Select, attention returns to league action with Bedford looking to carry momentum with them up the M1 to Leeds.

The Blues make several changes to the team that defeated Ospreys last weekend with Chris Czekaj and Jordan Burns start in the backs while Sean McCarthy, George Edgson and Ben Cooper make up the front row with Alex Rae and Jarad Williams return to the back row. While Tom Lindsay misses out with a knee ligament problem, there is a welcome return to the replacements bench for fly half Will Hooley who is fit again following a shoulder injury. 

Looking ahead to the game, Blues Team Manager Rob Crowle said: "We've been pretty pleased with recent results, but we still have work to do on our performances. We've given opponents too many chances in recent weeks and a team like Yorkshire Carnegie will make you pay so we need to tighten up.

"Headingley is always a tough venue for us and given the redevelopment work happening there it will be a different experience. The lads are in a good place at the moment though and are really looking forward to the challenge ahead."

Starting line-up:

15. Chris Czekaj
14. Elliot Clements-Hill
13. Rich Lane
12. Mike Le Bourgeois (c)
11. Dean Adamson
10. Harry Sheppard
9. Jordan Burns
1. Sean McCarthy
2. George Edgson
3. Ben Cooper 
4. Jordan Onojaife
5. Will Carrick-Smith
6. Alex Rae
7. Ben Adams
8. Jarad Williams
16. Jacob Fields
17. Camilo Parilli-Ocampo
18. Alex Penny
19. Ed Taylor
20. Paul Tupai
21. Lee Dickson
22. Will Hooley

Next Home Match

Friday 23rd August
1st XV Pre Season
Goldington Road