Skip to content


Match Preview v London Scottish

Posted: 9th January 2020

Bedford Blues have named their 23-man squad to face London Scottish this Friday in the opening game of the decade.

The first meeting between the two teams of this campaign sees Blues head to the Richmond Athletic Ground with both sides looking to start 2020 on the right footing. 

Director of Rugby, Mike Rayer, has made five changes to the side which lost to Ampthill at a sold-out Goldington Road on Boxing Day with Peter Lydon slotting straight in at full-back.  

Lydon’s inclusion is one of three changes to the backline with Ryan Hutler returning to the wing and Saracens’ dual-registered scrum-half, Alex Day, starting in the nine shirt.

The remaining two changes see hooker Jacob Fields and second row Ed Taylor return to the side. 

Starting XV:

15           Pete Lydon
14           Ryan Hutler
13           Rich Lane
12           Oskar Hirskyj-Douglas
11           Dean Adamson
10           Will Hooley
9             Alex Day

1            Sean McCarthy (C)
2            Jacob Fields
3            Henry Paul
4            Jordan Onojaife
5            Ed Taylor
6            Dan Temm
7            Joe Atkinson
8            Alafoti Fa’osiliva         


16           Robbie Smith
17           Joe Wrafter
18           Alex Penny
19           Oli Curry
20           Josh Buggea
21           Grayson Hart
22           Sam Leeming
23           Matt Worley